The Rimshots

The Rimshots were an American funk band that recorded the original theme to the syndicated music-dance TV series Soul Train in 1971. After two singles and an album on A-I Records in 1972, the band released four singles on All Platinum/Astroscope in 1974, followed by a three-single/one-album run on Stang Records between 1975 and 1976.

Members: Jonathan Williams (bass), Mozart Pierre-Louis (organ), Walter Morris (guitar), Tommy Keith (rhythm guitar), Bernadette Randle (piano, clavinet), Clarence Oliver (drums)


  • Soul Train (1971)
  • Down to Earth (1976)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *