The Byrds

The Byrds were an American rock band that released twelve albums between 1965 and 1973 on Columbia. Their original lineup featured three singing guitarists: Roger McGuinn, David Crosby, and Gene Clarke. They codified the jangly 12-string electric guitar sound on their 1965 Billboard No. 1’s “Mr. Tambourine Man” and “Turn! Turn! Turn!” Further hits include the inspirational “So You Want to Be a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star” and the 1966 psychedelic anthem “Eight Miles High.” After David’s departure to Crosby Stills & Nash, guitarist Graham Parsons joined for the countrified 1968 release Sweetheart of the Rodeo.

Members: Roger McGuinn (guitar, banjo, Moog, vocals), David Crosby (guitar, vocals, 1964-67, 1972-91), Gene Clark (vocals, tambourine, guitar, 1964-66, 1967, 1972-73), Michael Clarke (drums, 1964-67, 1972-73), Chris Hillman (bass, mandolin, vocals, 1964-68, 1972-91), Kevin Kelley (drums, 1968), Gram Parsons (guitar, piano, vocals, 1968), Carlos Bernal (guitar, 1968), Clarence White (guitar, vocals, 1968-73), Gene Parsons (drums, banjo, harmonica, vocals, 1968-72), John York (bass, vocals, 1968-69), Skip Battin (bass, piano, vocals, 1969-73)

The Byrds formed as The Jet Set in May 1964 in Los Angeles, California.


  • Mr. Tambourine Man (1965)
  • Turn! Turn! Turn! (1965)
  • Fifth Dimension (1966)
  • Younger Than Yesterday (1967)
  • The Notorious Byrd Brothers (1968)
  • Sweetheart of the Rodeo (1968)
  • Dr. Byrds & Mr. Hyde (1969)
  • Preflyte (1969)
  • Ballad of Easy Rider (1969)
  • (Untitled) (1970)
  • Byrdmaniax (1971)
  • Farther Along (1971)
  • Byrds (1973)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *