Parliament was an American R&B band that existed in two phases between 1955 and 1981. The first incarnation, as The Parliaments, yielded a string of doo-wop and soul singles on Revilot and other labels between 1959 and 1968, culminating with the 1970 album Osmium, released as Parliament on Invictus.

Singer–producer George Clinton reactivated Parliament as a funk supergroup with the 1974 Casablanca release Up for the Down Stroke, followed up through 1980 by seven studio albums and a live double-album. Clinton headed Parliament in tandem with Funkadelic.

Members: George Clinton (vocals), Pat Lewis (vocals), Ray Davis (vocals), Clarence “Fuzzy” Haskins (vocals), Eddie Hazel (guitar), Tal Ross (rhythm guitar), Tiki Fulwood (drums), Bernie Worrell (keyboards), Calvin Simon (vocals), Garry Shider (vocals, guitar), Bootsy Collins (bass), Fred Wesley (trombone), Maceo Parker (saxophone, clarinet, flute), Catfish Collins (guitar), Frank Waddy (drums), Michael Hampton (guitar), Walter “Junie” Morrison, Cordell Mosson (bass)

Parliament formed in 1969 in Detroit.


Parliament released their debut album, Osmium, on July 7, 1970, on Invictus.

Up for the Down Stroke

Parliament released their second album, Up for the Down Stroke, on July 3, 1974, on Casablanca.

Chocolate City

Parliament released their third album, Chocolate City, on March 12, 1975, on Casablanca.

Mothership Connection

Parliament released their fourth album, Mothership Connection, on December 15, 1975, on Casablanca.

“P-Funk (Wants To Get Funked Up”
Released: 1976
“Tear the Roof Off the Sucker (Give Up the Funk)”
Released: 1976
“Star Child (Mothership Connection)”
Released: 1976

The Clones of Dr. Funkenstein

Parliament released their fifth album, The Clones of Dr. Funkenstein, on July 20, 1976, on Casablanca.

Live: P-Funk Earth Tour

On May 5, 1977, Parliament released the double-album Live: P-Funk Earth Tour, culled from two winter ’77 concerts.

Funkentelechy vs. the Placebo Syndrome

Parliament released their sixth studio album, Funkentelechy vs. the Placebo Syndrome, on November 28, 1977, on Casablanca.

“Bop Gun (Endangered Species)”
Released: October 29, 1977

“Flash Light”
Released: January 28, 1978
Released: June 3, 1978

Motor Booty Affair

Parliament released their seventh studio album, Motor Booty Affair, on November 20, 1978, on Casablanca.

Gloryhallastoopid (Or Pin the Tale on the Funky)

Parliament released their eighth album, Gloryhallastoopid (Or Pin the Tale on the Funky), on November 21, 1979, on Casablanca.


Parliament released their ninth album, Trombipulation, on December 5, 1980, on Casablanca.


  • Osmium (1970)
  • Up for the Down Stroke (1974)
  • Chocolate City (1975)
  • Mothership Connection (1975)
  • The Clones of Dr. Funkenstein (1976)
  • Funkentelechy vs. the Placebo Syndrome (1977)
  • Live: P-Funk Earth Tour (2LP live, 1977)
  • Motor Booty Affair (1978)
  • Gloryhallastoopid (Or Pin the Tale on the Funky) (1979)
  • Trombipulation (1980)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *