Mombasa were an Afro-jazz/funk band that released three albums on Spiegelei between 1975 and 1979, followed by two further albums circa 1980/81 on Wind and Pläne. The band was formed by German-based American trumpeter Lou Blackburn.

Members: Lou Blackburn, Doug Lucas, Bob Reed, Don Ridgeway, Alan Tatham


  • African Rhythms & Blues (1975)
  • 2: African Rhythms & Blues (1976)
  • Ode to Kalahari (1979)
  • Tathagata (1980)
  • Peace Maker (1981)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *