Martha and The Muffins

Martha and The Muffins were a Canadian New Wave band from Toronto that debuted with a self-pressed standalone single in 1978, followed by three albums on DinDisc/Virgin in 1980/81. Under the initialed M+M moniker, a trimmed lineup of the band released three further albums on Current/RCA between 1983 and 1986.

Members: Martha Johnson (vocals, keyboards), Mark Gane (guitar, synthesizer), Tim Gane (drums, 1977-82), Carl Finkle (bass, 1977-80), Andy Haas (saxophone, 1978-82), Martha Ladly (vocals, keyboards, trombone, soprano trombone, 1978-80), Jocelyne Lanois (bass, 1981-84), Nick Kent (drums, 1982-84)


  • “Insect Love” / “Suburban Dream” (1978)
  • Metro Music (1980)
  • Trance and Dance (1980)
  • This Is the Ice Age (1981)
  • Danseparc (1983 • Martha and The Muffins · M+M)
  • Mystery Walk (1984 • M+M)
  • The World Is a Ball (1986 • M+M)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *