Johnny “Guitar” Watson

Johnny “Guitar” Watson (Feb. 3, 1935 — May 17, 1996) was an American R&B guitarist who was active as a session player and solo artist for more than four decades, starting in the early 1950s. Between 1973 and 1984, he released a string of jazz-funk albums on Fantasy, DJM, and Valley Vue. As a bandleader, he headed the Watsonian Institute for two albums during the late 1970s.


  • Listen (1973)
  • I Don’t Want to Be Alone, Stranger (1975)
  • Ain’t That a Bitch (1976)
  • A Real Mother for Ya (1977)
  • Funk Beyond the Call of Duty (1977)
  • Giant (1978)
  • What the Hell Is This? (1979)
  • Love Jones (1980)
  • Johnny “Guitar” Watson and the Family Clone (1981)
  • That’s What Time It Is (1981)
  • Strike On Computers (1984)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *