4th Cekcion

4th Cekcion was an American brass-rock band from Bellaire, Texas, that released a self-titled album on local-press Solar Records in 1970. Members: Greg Isaacs (vocals, keyboards), Stewart Rojo (guitar), Mike St. Clair (bass), Louie Broussard (percussion), Richard Cantu (woodwinds), Gary Weldon (brass) Background 4th Cekcion formed in Bellaire when brass player Gary Weldon and reedist […]

ZZ Top

ZZ Top is an American hard-rock/blues trio from Houston that released five albums on London Records between 1971 and 1976, scoring FM evergreens with “Tush” and “La Grange.” After the frontal pair of guitarist/singer Billy Gibbons and bassist Billy Etheridge grew long, matching beards, the band signed to Warner Bros and released another five albums […]

Leon Haywood

Leon Haywood (Feb. 11, 1942 — April 5, 2016) was an American soul singer from Houston who initially emerged as a singles artist for Fantasy, Imperial, and Fat Fish during the mid-1960s. Early in the following decade, he re-emerged as a soul-funk album artist with four longplayers on 20th Century between 1973 and 1977, followed […]

Lightmen Plus One

Lightmen Plus One were an American jazz-funk band that released two albums on Judnell circa 1970/71, followed by two further albums on bandleader Bubba Thomas’ Lightin’ Records between 1972 and 1975. Members: – Discography: Free as You Wanna Be (1970 • The Lightmen) Fancy Pants (1971) Energy Control Center (1972) Country Fried Chicken (1975 • […]

King’s X

King’s X were an American hard-rock band from Houston that released six albums on Atlantic between 1988 and 1996, followed by further titles on Metal blade during the subsequent decade. Members: Doug Pinnick (vocals, bass), Ty Tabor (vocals, guitar), Jerry Gaskill (vocals, drums) Discography: Out of the Silent Planet (1988) Gretchen Goes to Nebraska (1989) […]

Debra Laws

Debra Laws (born Sept. 10, 1956) is an American soul singer from Houston who released the album Very Special with accompanying singles on Elektra in 1981. She is the last-born in the musical Laws clan, which also includes flutist Hubert Laws, vocalist Eloise Laws, and saxophonist Ronnie Laws. Discography: Very Special (1981) Moments (1993)

Hubert Laws

Hubert Laws (born Nov. 10, 1939) is an American flutist from Houston. He is the eldest of kin in the musical Laws family, which also includes saxophonist Ronnie Laws and vocalists Eloise and Debra Laws. Discography: The Laws of Jazz (1965) Flute By-Laws (1966) Laws’ Cause (1969) Afro-Classic (1970) Crying Song (1970) The Rite of […]

Fever Tree

Fever Tree were an American psych-rock band from Houston that released three albums on Uni in 1968/69, followed by a fourth on Ampex in 1971. Members: Michael Knust (guitar), Rob Landes (keyboards, woodwind), John Tuttle (drums), EE Wolfe III (bass), Dennis Keller (vocals), Grant Johnson (keyboards), Kevin Kelly (drums), John Clarry (drums), Kenny Blanchette (bass) […]


A-440 were an American rock band from Houston that released three garage-psych singles on the local labels Sona and Cinema in 1967/68. In 1978, the reactivated band issued the symphonic-rock/opera Ulysses: The Greek Suite on 20th Century. Members: Ted Neeley (vocals), Carlos Luevano (guitar), Craig Meacham (bass), Ian Hoffman (drums), Michael Rapp (keyboards), Yvonne Iverson […]

Archie Bell & The Drells

Archie Bell & The Drells were an American soul group from Houston that released three albums on Atlantic in 1968/69. After a pair of 1973 singles on T.K.-subsidiary Glades, the group released four albums on TSOP/PIR between 1975 and 1979. Members: Archie Bell (vocals), Lee Bell (vocals), Lucious Von Haskins (vocals), Joe Cross (vocals), James […]

Red Crayola

The Red Crayola were an American psych-rock band from Houston, Tex., that released two albums on International Artists in 1967/68. The nameplate was reactivated in 1979 for the Radar Records release Soldier-Talk, recorded with members of Pere Ubu. A string of titles followed on Rough Trade and RecRec during the early 1980s, mostly in collaboration […]


Bloontz were an American hard-rock band from Houston that released a self-titled album on small-press Evolution in 1973. Members: Zenobia (choir), Tony Braunagel (drums), Andy Chapman (vocals), Jimmy Don (guitar), Margaret Dorn (choir), Mike Montgomery (keyboards), Terry Wilson (bass), Sharon Redd (choir), David L. Kealey (guitar), Steve Radney (guitar), Linda Lawley (choir) Discography: Bloontz (1973)