Afrique were a studio-funk band assembled in Los Angeles by mostly American musicians for the album Soul Makossa on Mainstream Records in 1973. The project was intended to capitalize on the ubiquity of the album’s title-track, made popular months earlier by Cameroonian saxophonist Manu Dibango.

Members: David T. Walker (guitar), Arthur Wright (guitar), Charles Kynard (organ), Jackie Kelso [aka Joe Kelso] (horn), Paul Jeffrey (horn), Steve Kravitz (horn), King Errisson (percussion), Paul Humphrey (percussion), Wallace Snow (percussion), Charles Taggart (percussion), Chino Valdes (percussion), Chuck Rainey (bass), Ray Pounds (drums)


  • Soul Makossa (1973)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *