Stretch ‎– Elastique (1975)

Elastique is the debut album by English funk-rock band Stretch, released in 1975 on Anchor.

“Buzz Fly”: Boingy jaws harp… Beefheartian vocal/bottleneck slide mark the verses… Plunging riff/clap bisects the verses

“Snakes Alive”: Jerky, tight rhythm locks a staccato 2/4 monochordal riff in E, accented high 5th (B)… Octave darting bassline in A underlies jiving vocal from Terry… Psych, spacey solo amid shifting chordal passages in mid-section, sustained, waling leads, gliding basslines… Locked riff returns, hammed by the kick-drum/hi hat

“Tomorrow’s Another Day”: D major power chord blast… Fast, brisk, riffs… Brawny, belting by Terry growling through highs and lows (Frankie Miller)… far chordal sustains mark the post-chorus crescendos… Doubled speed and thickness midsection, fast, scaly guitar solo… Double scaly bit at 2:40… Clamped hi-hat accents emphasize the swelling momentum… Layered guitars at fadeout

A1. “Miss Jones” (3:33)
A2. “Why Did You Do It?” (3:28)
A3. “Miss Dizzy” (4:00)
A4. “Snakes Alive” (3:33)
A5. “Write Me a Note” (4:36)
B1. “Tomorrow’s Another Day” (4:20)
B2. “Down Home” (3:04)
B3. “Navy Blues” (3:08)
B4. “Buzz Fly” (1:42)
B5. “Slip Away” (3:53)

Elmer Gantry — vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, Jew’s harp
Jim Russell — drums, cowbell, tambourine
Kirby — lead guitar, electric guitar, tambourine, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals
Paul Martinez — bass
Roshi — electric guitar, slide guitar
Steve Emery — bass
John Cook — keyboards

Artist/Album Pages:

Finch - Glory of the Inner Force (1975)
Glory of the Inner Force is the first of three albums by Dutch instrumental symphonic/hard-rock band...
Quiet Sun ‎– Mainstream (1975)
Mainstream is an album by English jazz-rock band Quiet Sun, released in 1975 on Island/Antilles. ...
Steve Hackett ‎– Voyage of the Acolyte (1975)
Voyage of the Acolyte is the debut solo album by English guitarist/composer Steve Hackett, released ...
Return to Forever Featuring Chick Corea ‎– No Mystery (1975)
No Mystery is an album by American jazz-rock quartet Return to Forever, released in 1975 on Polydor....
Peter Hammill ‎– Nadir’s Big Chance (1975)
Nadir’s Big Chance is the fifth solo album by singer-songwriter Peter Hammill, released in February ...
Sailor ‎– Trouble (1975)
Trouble is the second album by English vaudevillian-pop band Sailor, co-produced by Rupert Holmes an...
Exit 9 ‎– Straight Up (1975)
Straight Up is an album by American funk/soul ensemble Exit 9, released in 1975 on Brunswick Records...
Litto Nebbia ‎– Fuera del Cielo (1975)
Fuera del Cielo is the seventh solo album by Argentinian musician/composer Litto Nebbia, released in...
Chico Hamilton - Peregrinations (1975)
Peregrinations is a jazz-funk album by American drummer Chico Hamilton, released in 1975 on Blue Not...
Edgar Froese ‎– Epsilon in Malaysian Pale (1975)
Epsilon in Malaysian Pale is the second solo album by German electronic musician Edgar Froese, relea...
Messengers - First Message (1975)
First Message is the debut album by German jazz-funk/big band the Messengers, released in 1975 on Re...
Alphonse Mouzon – Mind Transplant (1975)
Mind Transplant is the third album by American jazz-rock drummer Alphonse Mouzon, released in 1975 o...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *