Haircut One Hundred ‎– Pelican West (1982)

Pelican West is the debut album by English New Wave/funk-pop band Haircut One Hundred, released in 1982 on Arista. The album would be the band’s only full-length release with original frontman Nick Heyward, who departed for a solo career the following year.


A1. “Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl)” (3:08)
A2. “Love Plus One” (3:33)
A3. “Lemon Firebrigade” (3:54)
A4. “Marine Boy” (3:24)
A5. “Milk Film” (2:55)
A6. “Kingsize (You’re My Little Steam Whistle)” (4:20)
B1. “Fantastic Day” (3:11)*
B2. “Baked Bean” (3:59)
B3. “Snow Girl” (2:53)
B4. “Love’s Got Me in Triangles” (3:35)
B5. “Surprise Me Again” (3:18)
B6. “Calling Captain Autumn” (4:43)

1982 shortplayer sides:
A. “Nobody’s Fool” / B. “October Is Orange (Day 1 and Day 2)”
* / B. “Ski Club

Nick Heyward — lead guitar, rhythm guitar, vocals, writer, sleeve design
Mark (Ilford) Fox — congas, percussion, brass arrangements
Blair Cunningham — drums
Les Nemes — bass, writer
Phil (Neville) Smith — saxophone, brass arrangements
Graham Jones — guitar

Vince Kenton Sullivan — trombone
The Broker Bros — brass arrangements
The Clipettes — performer
Bob Sargeant — producer
Mark Dearnley — engineer
David Shortt — art direction
Peter Hill — sleeve design
Gered Mankowitz — photography
Dave Lord — trumpet
Herschell Holder — trumpet

Artist/Album Pages:

Ultravox ‎– Quartet (1982)
Quartet is the sixth album by English art rock/New Wave band Ultravox, released in 1982 on Chrysalis...
Toshiki Kadomatsu ‎– Weekend Fly to the Sun (1982)
Weekend Fly to the Sun is the second album by Japanese musician/songwriter Toshiki Kadomatsu, record...
Men Without Hats ‎– Rhythm of Youth (1982)
Rhythm of Youth is the debut full-length studio album by Quebecois New Wave/synthpop trio Men Withou...
Rupert Hine ‎– Waving Not Drowning (1982)
Waving Not Drowning is the fourth solo album by English art-rock musician/producer Rupert Hine, rele...
Orange Juice ‎– Rip It Up (1982)
Rip It Up is the second album by Scottish New Wave/funk-pop band Orange Juice, released in November ...
Thomas Dolby ‎– The Golden Age of Wireless (1982)
The Golden Age of Wireless is the debut album by English modernist New Wave/art-pop keyboardist/comp...
Utopia ‎– Utopia (1982)
Utopia is a 1982 album by the American pop-rock quartet of the same name, produced by Todd Rundgren ...
Su Tissue ‎– Salon de Musique (1982)
Salon de Musique is an album of minimalist piano compositions by American composer Su Tissue, record...
Peter Gabriel - Security (1982)
Security is the North American title of the fourth eponymous studio album by Peter Gabriel, released...
Tri Atma Und Gyan Nishabda ‎– Sehnsucht Und Einklang (1982)
Sehnsucht Und Einklang is the fourth album by German/Indian ethno/jazz-rock combo Tri Atma, recorded...
Aurora Borealis ‎– Aurora Borealis with Mitch Dematoff (1982)
Aurora Borealis with Mitch Dematoff is an album by American jazz-rock quartet Aurora Borealis, relea...
The Broughtons ‎– Superchip (1982)
Superchip is the second of two albums released by the Edgar Broughton Band under the truncated namep...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *