Oneness of Juju ‎– African Rhythms (1975)

Oneness of Juju is the debut album by American Afro-jazz/funk ensemble Oneness of Juju, released in 1975 on Black Fire. Tracklist: A1. “African Rhythms” (7:17) A2. “Kazi” (4:20) A3. “Funky Wood” (1:13) A4. “Tarishi” (3:55) A5. “Mashariki” (3:22) B1. “Chants” (1:14) B2. “Don’t Give Up” (5:41) B3. “Incognito” (8:10) B4. “Poo Too” (3:43) B5. “Liberation […]

JuJu ‎– Chapter Two: Nia (1974)

Chapter Two: Nia is the second of two albums by American avant-garde/spiritual-jazz ensemble Ju Ju, released in 1974 on Strata-East. The band would morph into Oneness of JuJu for the following year’s African Rhythms. Tracklist: A1. “Introduction” (2:40) A2. “Contradiction” (5:10) A3. “Black Experience” (3:44) A4. “Nia” (8:36) B1. “The End of the Butterfly King” […]

Ndikho Xaba & the Natives

Ndikho Xaba & the Natives were an American spiritual jazz ensemble from San Francisco that released an eponymous album on self-press Trilyte Records in 1971. The band was led by South African-born musician Ndikho Xaba and also included future Ju Ju/Oneness of Juju members Lon Moshe and Plunky. Members: Ndikho Xaba (piano, percussion, horn), Plunky […]

Ju Ju

Ju Ju were an American spiritual-jazz ensemble from San Francisco that released two albums on Strata-East in 1973 and 1974. The band morphed into Oneness of Juju and released five further albums over the following nine-year period. Members: J. Plunky Branch, Michael “Babatunde Olatunji” Lea (percussion), Al-Hammel Rasul [aka Tony Grayson] (piano), Jalongo Ngoma [aka […]