Witch were a Zambian zamrock band that formed in 1971 and was active for 14 years. The band released seven albums on the ZMP, Teal, and Gallo labels. The albums Lazy Bones!! (1975) and Lukombo Vibes (1976) were instrumental in drawing foreign ears to the African nation’s zam/psych sound. Guitarist John Muma and bassist Gedeon Mulenga also appeared on the 1975 album Black Power by The Peace.

Members: Chris Mbewe (lead guitar, vocals, acoustic guitar), John Muma (rhythm guitar, vocals), Gedeon Mulenga (bass), Boidi Sinkala (drums), Emanyeo Jagari Chanda (vocals, cowbells, marracas, 1971-77)


  • Introduction (1972)
  • In the Past (1974)
  • Lazy Bones!! (1975)
  • Lukombo Vibes (1976)
  • Including Janet (1977)
  • Movin’ On (1980)
  • Kuomboka (1984)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *