Spirits Rejoice

Spirits Rejoice were a South African jazz-funk band that released the album African Spaces on Atlantic in 1977, followed by Spirits Rejoice! on Jo’Burg in 1978.

Members: George Tyefumani (trumpet, percussion, vocals), Thabo Mashishi (trumpet), Duke Makasi (tenor/soprano saxophone), Robbie Jansen (vocals, flute, alto saxophone), Mervyn Africa (piano, Fender Rhodes electric piano, ARP synthesizer, strings), Paul Petersen (guitar), Sipho Gumede (bass), Gilbert Matthews (drums, vibraslap, finger cymbals, bell tree)


  • African Spaces (1977)
  • Spirits Rejoice! (1978)
  • “Shine On” / “I’m So Strong Now (What Does It Matter)” ‎(1980) 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *