The Aynsley Dunbar Retaliation

The Aynsley Dunbar Retaliation was an English blues-rock band that issued a standalone single on Blue Horizon/CBS in 1967, followed by four albums on Liberty between 1968 and 1970. The band morphed into Blue Whale for a final album — sometimes credited to drummer/bandleader Dunbar — on Byg Records in 1971. Dunbar drummed on the first four Journey albums and served in the 1979–82 lineup of the Jefferson Starship.

Members: Victor Brox (trumpet, keyboards, organ, vocals), Aynsley Dunbar (drums), John Moorshead (guitar, vocals), Keith Tillman (bass, 1967-?), Alex Dmochowski [aka Erroneous] (bass), Tommy Eyre (keyboards)


  • “Warning” / “Cobwebs” (1967)
  • Doctor Dunbar’s Prescription (1969)
  • The Aynsley Dunbar Retaliation (1969)
  • Remains to Be Heard (1970)
  • To Mum, From Aynsley and the Boys (1970)
  • Blue Whale (1971)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *