The Rascals

The Rascals were an American pop-rock band that released seven albums between 1966 and 1971 on Atlantic. On their first three albums, they’re billed as The Young Rascals. They are best known for the AM radio evergreens “How Can I Be Sure?,” “A Beautiful Morning,” “A Girl Like You,” and the 1966–68 Billboard No. 1’s “Good Lovin’,” “Groovin’,” and “People Got to Be Free.” Their 1967 third album Groovin’ contains the original “You Better Run,” a 1980 hit for Pat Benetar. After a 1970 lineup shuffle, guitarist Howard “Buzz” Feiten joined for the 1971–72 Columbia albums Peaceful World and The Island of Real.

Members: Felix Cavaliere (keyboards, vocals), Dino Danelli (drums), Gene Cornish (guitar, 1965-71, 1988, 2012-13), Eddie Brigati (vocals, percussion, 1965-70, 2012-13), Robert Popwell (bass, 1970-72), Danny Weis (guitar, 1970), Howard ‘Buzz’ Feiten (guitar, 1971-72)

The Rascals formed in 1965 in Garfield, New Jersey.


  • The Young Rascals (1966 • The Young Rascals)
  • Collections (1967 • The Young Rascals)
  • Groovin’ (1967 • The Young Rascals)
  • Once Upon a Dream (1968)
  • Freedom Suite (1969)
  • See (1969)
  • Search and Nearness (1971)
  • Peaceful World (1971)
  • The Island of Real (1972)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *