The Kinks ‎– Arthur (Or the Decline and Fall of the British Empire) (1969)

Arthur (Or the Decline and Fall of the British Empire) is a concept album by English rock/music-hall combo The Kinks, released in October 1969 on Pye/Reprise.


A1. “Victoria” (3:40)
A2. “Yes Sir, No Sir” (3:46)
A3. “Some Mother’s Son” (3:25)
A4. “Drivin’” (3:21)*
A5. “Brainwashed” (2:34)
A6. “Australia” (6:46)
B1. “Shangri-La” (5:20)
B2. “Mr. Churchill Says” (4:42)
B3. “She’s Bought a Hat Like Princess Marina” (3:07)
B4. “Young and Innocent Days” (3:21)
B5. “Nothing to Say” (3:08)
B6. “Arthur” (5:27)

B-sides/’69 shortplayer sides:
*/”Mindless Child of Motherhood
**/”This Man He Weeps Tonight
A. “Plastic Man” / B. “King Kong

Ray Davies — guitar, keyboards, harpsichord, piano, vocals, arranger, producer, writer, art direction
Dave Davies — guitar, vocals, arranger, art direction
John Dalton — bass guitar, arranger, art direction
Mick Avory — drums, percussion, arranger, art direction

Julian Mitchell — writer, liner notes
Lew Warburton — conductor
Tony Bridge — mastering
Bob Lawrie — design
Andy Hendriksen — engineer
Brian Humphries — engineer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *