The Funkees

The Funkees were a Nigerian Afro-funk band that released a slew of singles and two proper albums during the 1970s. The band also co-headlined a solo release by guitarist/vocalist Harry Mosco.

Members: Harry Mosco (guitar, vocals, gong), Chyke Madu (drums, vocals), Sonny Akpabio (congas), Jake N. Sollo (guitar, organ, piano, vocals), Danny Heibs (bass, vocals, percussion), Tony Mallett, Mohammed Ahidjo (vocals, percussion), Roli Paterson (bongos)


  • Point of No Return (1974)
  • Now I’m a Man (1976)
  • For You Specialy (Harry Mosco / The Funkees, 1978)


  • “Onye Mmanya I” / “Onye Mmanya II” (1971)
  • “My First Date” / “Acid Rock” (1971)
  • “Akula Owu Onyeara I” / “Akula Owu Onyeara II” (1972)
  • “Dancing Time” / “Obu Achara” (1972)
  • “Slippin’ Into Darkness” / “Breakthrough” (1973)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *