Steps Ahead

Steps Ahead were an American post-bop/modern-jazz supergroup that released three albums as Steps on Japanese Nippon-subsidiary Better Days between 1980 and 1982. Under the full nameplate, the band released three albums on Elektra Musician between 1983 and 1986.

Members: Mike Mainieri (vibraphone), Michael Brecker (saxophone), Don Grolnick (piano), Eddie Gomez (bass), Steve Gadd (drums), Peter Erskine (drums), Eliane Elias (piano), Warren Bernhardt (piano), Chuck Loeb (guitar), Victor Bailey (bass), Mike Stern (guitar), Darryl Jones (bass), Steve Smith (drums), Bob Berg (saxophone), Marc Johnson (bass), Bendik Hofseth (saxophone)


  • Step by Step (1980 • Steps)
  • Smokin’ in the Pit (live 2LP, 1981 • Steps)
  • Paradox – Live At Seventh Avenue South (1982 • Steps)
  • Steps Ahead (1983)
  • Modern Times (1984)
  • Magnetic (1986)
  • N.Y.C. (1989)
  • Yin Yang (1989)
  • Vibe (1995)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *