Third World

Third World are a Jamaican roots-reggae band that released six albums on Island Records between 1976 and 1980, followed by a round of titles on CBS during the subsequent four-year period.

Members: Michael “Ibo” Cooper (keyboards, 1973-97), Steven “Cat” Coore (guitar, cello), Richard Daley (bass), Carl Barovier (drums), Willie Stewart (drums, 1977-97), Irvin “Carrot” Jarret (percussion), Milton “Prilly” Hamilton (vocals, 1973-76), Cornell Marshall (drums), Bunny Rugs (vocals, 1976-2014), Leroy Romans (keyboards, 1997-?) Tony Williams (drums, 1997-present), Herbie Harris (keyboards), Rupert Bent (guitar, keyboard, percussion)


  • Third World (1976)
  • 96° in the Shade (1977)
  • Journey to Addis (1978)
  • The Story’s Been Told (1979)
  • Arise in Harmony (1980)
  • Rock the World (1981)
  • You’ve Got the Power (1982)
  • All the Way Strong (1983)
  • Sense of Purpose (1985)
  • Hold On to Love (1987)
  • Serious Business (1989)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *