Flyte were a Dutch symphonic-rock band that issued the album Dawn Dancer on Don Quixote Records in 1979. Members: Lu Rousseau (vocals, percussion), Ruud Worthman (guitar), Jack van Liesdonck (piano, electric piano, clavinet, synthesizer), Leo Cornelissens (organ, Mellotron, ARP Solina string ensemble, vocals), Hans Marynissen (percussion), Peter Dekeersmaeker (bass, vocals) Discography: Dawn Dancer (1979)

Doe Maar

Doe Maar were a Dutch New Wave/ska band that released four albums on Killroy/Sky between 1979 and 1983. Members: Ernst Jansz (vocals, keyboards, guitar, saxophone), Jan Hendriks (guitar, vocals), Joost Belinfante (bass, trombone, percussion, vocals, 1978-84), Carel Copier (drums, vocals, 1978-81), Piet Dekker (bass, vocals, 1978-80), Henny Vrienten (vocals, bass, 1980-2013), René van Collem (drums, […]


Bonfire were a Dutch avant-garde/jazz-rock band that released the album Bonfire Goes Bananas on EMI in 1975. Members: Cees Meerman (drums), Eugene den Hoed (guitar, flute), Kees den Hoed (bass), Frank Witte (organ, piano, flute) Discography: Bonfire Goes Bananas (1975)

The Chris Hinze Combination

The Chris Hinze Combination were a Dutch revolving-door jazz-rock ensemble led by the namesake flutist. The band released 10 albums between 1970 and 1978, mostly on CBS. Nine further albums have appeared at sporadic intervals since 1984. Members: Chris Hinze (flute, alto flute, bass flute, bamboo flute, organ), Henk Alkema (piano), Wim van der Beek […]

Anita Meyer

Anita Meyer (born Oct. 29, 1954) is a Dutch pop singer who first recorded during the late 1960s as half of the teen-sibling duo Anita & Rene — alternately known by the names Joy and Go Go — with brother René Meijer. In 1975 she joined Rainbow Train, an art-pop ensemble directed by musician/composer Hans […]


Avalanche were a Dutch folk-rock/psych band that released the album Perseverance Kills Our Game on Starlet in 1979. Members: Jan Blom (vocals, mandolin, guitar, bass), Rob Dekker (keyboards), Daan Slaman (guitar), Marcella Neeleman (flute), Fred Dekker (bass guitar), Johan Spek (drums) Discography: Perseverance Kills Our Game (1979)


Alquin were a Dutch symphonic/hard-rock band that released four albums and a live recording on Polydor between 1972 and 1976. Members: Dick Franssen (keyboards), Ferdinand Bakker (guitar, keyboards, backing vocals), Job Tarenskeen (vocals, saxophone, backing vocals, drums), Ronald Ottenhoff (flute, saxophone), Bart Terlaak (drums, 1971), Piet-Hein Strack van Schijndel (drums, 1971), Paul Weststrate (drums, 1971-75), […]

Association P.C.

Association P.C. were a Dutch/German avant-garde jazz-rock ensemble that released five albums between 1970 and 1974 on the MPS, Munich, and Corona labels. Members: Pierre Courbois (drums, percussion), Toto Blanke (guitar, ring modulator, nagoya harp), Jasper van’t Hof (electric piano, 1969-73), Peter Krijnen (bass, 1969-70), Sigi Busch (bass, 1970-75), Heiner Wiberny (tenor saxophone, basset horn, […]


Ekseption was a Dutch classical/jazz-rock band from Haarlem, Noord-Holland, originally formed in 1958 as The Jokers. Between 1969 and 1976, the band released nine albums on Philips. Members: Hans Alta (bass, 1958-68), Rein van den Broek (flugelhorn, trumpet, 1958-78), Tim Griek (drums, 1958-68), Huib van Kampen (guitar, saxophone, 1958-69), Rob Kruisman (flute, guitar, saxophone, vocals, […]