Wire are an English post-punk band from London that released the 1977–79 albums Pink Flag, Chairs Missing, and 154 on Harvest. They disbanded in 1980 when singer–guitarist Colin Newman went solo (backed by drummer Robert Gotobed) and bassist Graham Lewis launched Dome with guitarist Bruce Gilbert. Wire reformed mid-decade and released four albums and two […]

Wire ‎– Chairs Missing (1978)

Chairs Missing is the second album by English New Wave/art-punk band Wire, released in 1978 on Harvest. Tracklist: A1. “Practice Makes Perfect” (4:06) A2. “French Film Blurred” (2:35) A3. “Another the Letter” (1:06) A4. “Men 2nd” (1:43) A5. “Marooned” (2:21) A6. “Sand in My Joints” (1:57) A7. “Being Sucked In Again” (3:12) A8. “Heartbeat” (3:15) […]

Colin Newman ‎– A-Z (1980)

A-Z is the debut solo album by English New Wave/art-pop musician Colin Newman, released in 1980 on Beggars Banquet. Produced by Wire fifth-wheel Mike Thorne and retaining that band’s drummer, the album serves as a musical continuation of Chairs Missing and 154. Tracklist: A1. “I’ve Waited Ages” (5:07) A2. “& Jury” (2:47) A3. “Alone” (3:57) […]

Colin Newman

Colin Newman (born Sept. 16, 1954) is an English musician, vocalist, and songwriter from Salisbury, Wiltshire, best known as the frontman of post-punks Wire through three periods of activity. He made three 1977–79 studio albums with Wire and launched his solo career with the 1980 Beggars Banquet release A-Z, followed by the 1981–82 4AD albums […]