Emerson, Lake & Palmer

Emerson, Lake & Palmer — alternately known by the acronym ELP — were an English symphonic-rock trio that released three studio albums and a live classical recording on Island (UK) and Cotillion (US) between 1970 and 1972. In 1973, the band established Manticore Records for original releases and albums by like-minded artists. As one of […]

Atomic Rooster

Atomic Rooster were an English hard-rock band that released back-to-back albums on B&C/Fontana in 1970, followed by three albums on Pegasus and Dawn between 1971 and 1973. After a six-year pause in activity, the band reconvened for two albums on EMI and PVC/Passport between 1980 and 1983. The band was formed from the ashes of […]

Asia ‎– Asia (1982)

Asia is the debut album by the namesake English symphonic/hard-rock supergroup comprised of ex-King Crimson/UK vocalist/bassist John Wetton, former Yes guitarist Steve Howe, onetime Buggle Geoff Downes, and erstwhile “P” in ELP Carl Palmer. Sporting a serpentine cover image by Yes/Osibisa/Uriah Heep painter/illustrator Roger Dean, the album was released in 1982 on Geffen. Tracklist: A1. “Heat […]

The Crazy World of Arthur Brown

The Crazy World of Arthur Brown were an English psych-rock band that released the single “Devil’s Grip” on Track Record in 1967, followed by a self-titled album (produced by Pete Townshend) and the single “Nightmare” in 1968. The band is best known for the shock theatrics of vocalist Arthur Brown, whose hair-lighting antics ignited performances […]

Atomic Rooster ‎– Atomic Rooster (1970)

Atomic Rooster is the debut album by the English rock combo of the same name, released in February 1970 on the B&C label. Tracklist: A1. “Friday the Thirteenth” (3:31) A2. “And So to Bed” (4:11) A3. “Broken Wings” (5:46) A4. “Before Tomorrow” (5:50) B1. “Banstead” (3:33) B2. “S. L. Y.” (4:56) B3. “Winter” (6:59) B4. […]

Emerson, Lake & Palmer ‎– Tarkus (1971)

Tarkus is the second studio album by English symphonic-rock trio Emerson, Lake & Palmer, released in 1971 on the Island and Atlantic labels. Tracklist: A1. Tarkus (20:42) – i. Eruption – ii. Stones of Years – iii. Iconoclast – iv. Mass – v. Manticore – vi. Battlefield – vii. Aquatarkus B1. Jeremy Bender (1:41) B2. […]


Asia were an English symphonic/hard-rock supergroup that released three albums on Geffen between 1982 and 1985, followed by another round of discs on Intercord/Bullet Proof during the 1990s. Members: Geoffrey Downes (keyboards, vocals), Carl Palmer (drums, percussion, 1981-92, 2006-present), John Wetton (vocals, bass, 1981-83, 1984-91, 2006-17), Steve Howe (guitar, vocals, 1981-83, 1992, 2006-2013), Greg Lake […]