Speed Limit – Speed Limit (1974)

Speed Limit is the first of two self-titled albums by the namesake French jazz-rock collective, released in 1974 on Le Chant du Monde. Tracklist: A1. “Sleep Walker” (11:12) A2. “Pava” (5:04) A3. “Abra” (2:57) B1. “Spanish Dream” (9:16) B2. “Ballad to Laura Antonelli” (6:31) B3. “Ducky” (3:58) Credits: George Jinda — drums Jeff Seffer — […]

Slapp Happy – Acnalbasac Noom (1974)

Acnalbasac Noom is a collection of demos for the second album by multinational art-pop trio Slapp Happy, recorded in 1974 with members of Faust and released in 1980 on Recommended Records. The album was intended as an alternative to the band’s 1974 sophomoric release Slapp Happy, which features the same material recorded with English studio […]

Sixty-Nine – Live! (1974)

Live! is the second album by German hard-rock/jam-band Sixty-Nine, released in 1974 on Philips. Tracklist: A1. “Just Right Here and Now” (4:48) A2. “Red Guitar” (3:50) A3. “Little Country Girl” (3:35) A4. “Seven Steps to Hell” (7:37) B1. “Frenzy Feelings” (4:06) B2. “Get Up” (12:18) C1. “The Confiscated Car” (5:10) C2. “Bach’s broken Trumpet” (10:22) D1. […]

Shona Laing – Shooting Stars Are Only Seen at Night (1974)

Shooting Stars Are Only Seen at Night is the second album by Kiwi singer/songwriter Shona Laing, released in 1974 on Philips. Tracklist: A1. “I’m Crying Too” A2. “Remains To Be Seen” A3. “Happy Song” A4. “This Moment Here” A5. “Tony” A6. “Shooting Stars” B1. “Someone Like Me” B2. “I Want You” B3. “Now I Know” […]

Secos & Molhados – Secos & Molhados (1974)

Secos & Molhados is the second of four self-titled studio albums by Brazilian art-rock trio Secos & Molhados, released in 1974 on Continental. Tracklist: A1. “Tercer mundo” (2:36) A2. “Flores astrais” (3:51) A3. “Não: Não digas nada” (1:38) A4. “Medo mulato” (3:18) A5. “Oh! Mulher infiel” (1:30) A6. “Vôo” (2:34) B1. “Angústia” (2:45) B2. “O hierofante” […]

Secret Oyster – Sea Son (1974)

Sea Son is the second album by Danish jazz-rock band Secret Oyster, released in 1974 on CBS/Peters International. Tracklist: A1. “Oysterjungle” (2:57) A2. “Mind Movie” (9:14) A3. “Pajamamafia” (6:07) B1. “Black Mist” (3:40) B2. “Painforest” (5:40) B3. “Paella” (6:23) CD bonus tracks: 7. “Sea Son” (5:25) 8. “Alfresco Part I” (5:39) 9. “Alfresco Part II” […]

Kansas – Song for America (1975)

Song for America is the second album by American symphonic-hard rockers Kansas, released in February 1975 on CBS-subsidiary Kirshner. Tracklist: A1. “Down the Road” (3:43) A2. “Song for America” (9:59) A3. “Lamplight Symphony” (8:11) B1. “Lonely Street” (5:41) B2. “The Devil Game” (5:01) B3. “Incomudro / Hymn to the Atman” (12:11) Credits: Steve Walsh – […]

Procol Harum – Exotic Birds and Fruit (1974)

Exotic Birds and Fruit is the seventh studio album by English symphonic-rock/R&B band Procol Harum, released in 1974 on Chrysalis. Tracklist: A1. “Nothing but the Truth” (3:11) A2. “Beyond the Pale” (3:02) A3. “As Strong as Samson” (5:04) A4. “The Idol” (6:38) B1. “The Thin End of the Wedge” (3:42) B2. “Monsieur R. Monde” (3:39) B3. […]

Phil Ranelin – The Time Is Now! (1974)

The Time Is Now! is the first solo headlining album by American avant-garde jazz trombonist Phil Ranelin, released in 1974 on Tribe. Tracklist: A1. “The Time Is Now for Change” (14:31) A2. “Time Is Running Out” (4:33) B1. “Of Times Gone By” (8:43) B2. “Black Destiny” (4:06) B3. “13th and Senate” (6:06) B4. “He the […]

Osibisa – Osibirock (1974)

Osibirock is the sixth album by London-based Ghanaian tribal-funk ensemble Osibisa, released in 1974 on Warner Bros. Tracklist: A1. “Who’s Got the Paper” (2:27) A2. “Why” (5:35) A3. “Osibirock” (3:02) A4. “Kelele” (5:20) A5. “Atinga Bells” (0:35) B1. “African Jive” (4:00) B2. “We Belong” (4:21) B3. “Komfo (High Priest)” (4:47) B4. “Kangaroo” (2:50) B5. “Home Affairs” […]

Nancy Wilson – All in Love Is Fair (1974)

All in Love Is Fair is an album by American smooth-soul vocalist Nancy Wilson, produced by Gene Page and released in 1974 on Capitol. Tracklist: A1. “You’re as Right as Rain” (3:08) A2. “Try It, You’ll Like It” (4:46) A3. “There’ll Always Be Forever” (3:00) A4. “All in Love Is Fair” (4:03) A5. “Streetrunner” (3:23) […]

The Moments – Those Sexy Moments (1974)

Those Sexy Moments is an album by American smooth-soul vocal combo The Moments, released in 1974 on Sylvia Robinson‘s All Platinum label. Tracklist: A1a. “Yogi’s Theme” (2:00) A1b. “Sweet Sweet Lady” (4:47) A2. “You’ve Come a Long Way” (3:49) A3. “Give Me Some More” (4:55) A4. “Seven Days” (5:07) A5. “Baby I Don’t Like You” […]

Marcos Valle – Marcos Valle (1974)

Marcos Valle is the eleventh proper album by Brazilian musician/songwriter Marcos Valle, released in 1974 on Odeon. The album is not to be confused with his seventh album, also self-titled, from 1970. Tracklist: A1. “No rumo do sol” (2:34) A2. “Meu herói” (2:38) A3. “Só se morre uma vez” (2:34) A4. “Casamento, filhos e convenções” […]

MacKenzie Theory – Bon Voyage (1974)

Bon Voyage is the second album by Australian jazz-rock quintet MacKenzie Theory, recorded live at Melbourne’s Dallas Brooks Hall and released in 1974 on Mushroom. Tracklist: A1. “Clouds” (15:43 — :10–6:37–10:55–15:31) A2. “The A Thing” (5:24) B1. “The C Thing” (8:03) B2. “Supreme Love” (7:36) Credits: Rob Mackenzie — guitar Cleis Pearce — electric viola Paul […]

Lucifer’s Friend – Banquet (1974)

Banquet is the fourth album by German hard-rock band Lucifer’s Friend, released in 1974 on Vertigo/Passport. Tracklist: A1. “Spanish Galleon” (11:50) A2. “Thus Spoke Oberon” (6:44) B1. “High Flying Lady-Goodbye” (3:40) B2. “Sorrow” (11:36) B3. “Dirty Old Town” (4:46) Credits: John Lawton — lead vocals Peter Hesslein — electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 12 string guitar, […]

Litto Nebbia – Melopea (1974)

Melopea is the sixth album by Argentinian musician/composer Litto Nebbia, released in 1974 on RCA Victor. Tracklist: A1. “La ventana sin cancel” (1:58) A2. “Apelación de otoño” (3:56) A3. “¿Qué clase de amor tendrás?” (3:12) A4. “La lección del viajero” (3:41) A5. “Capitanes de esta guerra” (5:42) A6. “Gloria y guitarra” (3:06) B1. “Los lunes de […]

Le Orme – Contrappunti (1974)

Contrappunti is the fifth album by Italian symphonic-rock band Le Orme, released in 1974 on Philips. Tracklist: A1. “Contrappunti” (5:56) A2. “Frutto acerbo” (3:34) A3. “Aliante” (3:20) A4. “India” (3:12) B1. “La fabbricante d’angeli” (4:47) B2. “Notturno” (3:51) B3. “Maggio” (8:50) Credits: Aldo Tagliapietra — vocals, guitar, bass, composer Tony Pagliuca — keyboards, composer Michi Dei […]

The Lafayette Afro Rock Band – Malik (1974)

Malik is the second album by the Lafayette Afro Rock Band, released in 1974 on America Records. Tracklist: A1. “Dguni” (5:32) A2. “Raff” (3:11) A3. “Conga” (4:48) A4. “Avi-Vo” (3:36) B1. “Malik” (4:53) B2. “Darkest Light” (6:15) B3. “Baba Hya” (5:19) CD reissue bonus tracks: “I Love Music” (7:09) “What You Need” (6:32)   Credits: Bass […]