ZZ Top

ZZ Top is an American hard-rock/blues trio from Houston that released five albums on London Records between 1971 and 1976, scoring FM evergreens with “Tush” and “La Grange.” After the frontal pair of guitarist/singer Billy Gibbons and bassist Billy Etheridge grew long, matching beards, the band signed to Warner Bros and released another five albums between 1979 and 1980, hitting the big time with their 1983 release Eliminator and the radio/MTV staples “Gimme All Your Lovin’,” “Sharp Dressed Man,” and “Legs.”

Members: Billy F. Gibbons (guitar, vocals), Lanier Greig (bass, keyboards, 1969), Dan Mitchell (drums, 1969), Billy Etheridge (bass, 1969), Frank Beard (drums, 1969-present), Dusty Hill (bass, vocals, 1969-present)


  • ZZ Top’s First Album (1971)
  • Rio Grande Mud (1972)
  • Tres Hombres (1973)
  • Fandango! (1975)
  • Tejas (1976)
  • Degüello (1979)
  • El Loco (1981)
  • Eliminator (1983)
  • Afterburner (1985)
  • Recycler (1990)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *