Waterloo was a Belgian pop-psych band that released the album First Battle with accompanying singles on Vogue in 1970, followed by two non-album singles in 1971. The band’s final lineup formed the nucleus of Pazop.

Members: Dirk Bogaert (lead vocals, flute), Gus Roan (guitar), Marc Malyster (organ, 1969-70), Jacky Mauer (drums), Jean-Paul Janssens (bass, 1969-70), Rick Urmel (bass, 1970), Jean-Paul Musette (bass, 1970-72), Frank Wuyts (organ, 1970-72), John Van Rymenant (saxophone, 1970-72)

Waterloo was formed in October 1969 by two-thirds of garage-rockers Adam’s Recital: drummer Jack Mauer and bassist Jean-Paul Janssens. First Battle appeared on Disques Vogue in 1970. It features 10 originals credited to guitarist Gus Roan and non-performing co-writer Igor Minarief, including “Lonesome Road,” “Life,” “Why May I Not Know,” “Black Born Children,” and “Why Don’t You Follow Me.”

The opener “Meet Again” was released as a single, backed with “The Guy in the Wrong Neighbourhood” (retitled “Guy in the Neighbourhood” on the album). The track “Tumblin’ Jack” appeared on the flip of the non-album a-side “Plastic Mind.”

In late 1970, Janssens and organist Marc Malyster were replaced by bassist Jean-Paul Musette and keyboardist Frank Wuyts. Saxophonist John Van Rymenant also joined at this time. This lineup cut the single “I Can’t Live With Nobody But You” (b/w “Smile”), issued in March 1971. Later that year, they cut a fourth single: “A Bad Time” (b/w “Bobo’s Dream”).

Waterloo singer/flutist Dirk Bogaer, along with Wuyts, formed the jazz-rock band Pazop, which issued one 1972 single and recorded the album Psychillis of a Lunatic Genius, which was unearthed by Musea a quarter-century later. Bogaer also recorded with Cos and Abraxis.

Bogaert, Roan, and Malyster reteamed for the 1979 comedy-pop album There Ain’t No Age for Rock ‘n’ Roll, released under the pseudo-band moniker The Veterans. Wuyts later collaborated on the album From Here to Drums (No Man’s Land, 1988) with former Henry Cow reedist Geoff Leigh. In 2009, First Battle was reissued by Musea with six bonus tracks, including all the non-album sides and the vaulted seven-minute “The Youngest Day.”

Waterloo’s mix of jaunty singalongs and organ-heavy numbers placed them at the stylistic turn of 1969/70 European rock. Their mix is comparable to the contemporary output of Aunt Mary, Circus 2000, Earth and Fire, and Mad Curry.



  • “Meet Again” / “The Guy in the Wrong Neighbourhood” (1970)
  • “Plastic Mind” / “Tumblin’ Jack” (1970)
  • “I Can’t Live With Nobody But You” / “Smile” (1971)
  • “A Bad Time” / “Bobo’s Dream” (1971)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *