Wallenstein was a German symphonic-rock band on Pilz that released the 1971/72 albums Blitzkrieg and Mother Universe. On Kosmische Musik, they released the 1973–75 albums Cosmic Century and Stories, Songs and Symphonies. During the late 1970s, the band issued three albums on RCA, followed by a final pair of recordings for Harvest in the early 1980s.

Members: Jürgen Dollase (keyboards, vocals), Harald Grosskopf (drums, percussion, 1971-75), Wolfgang Steinicke (guitar, 1971), Bill Barone (guitar, 1971-75), Jerry Berkers (bass, 1971-72), Dieter Meier (bass, 1973), Joachim Reiser (violin, 1973-76), Jürgen Pluta (bass, 1973–78), Gerd Kloecker (guitar, 1975-78), Nicky Gebhard (1975-78), Pete Brough (guitar, 1978-82), Michael Dommers (guitar, 1978-82), Kim Merz (vocals, 1978-82), Charlie Terstappen (drums, 1978-82), Terry Park [Kurt Schmidt] (bass, 1982)

Wallenstein was formed in 1971 as Blitzkrieg by classically trained keyboardist Jürgen Dollase, a native of Viersen and student at the Art Academy Düsseldorf. Guitarist Wolfgang Steinicke, later a noted astronomer, played with the band in its formative stages. Months later, the lineup coalesced with Hildesheim-bred drummer Harald Grosskopf, Dutch bassist Jerry Berkers, and Philadelphia-born American guitarist Bill Barone. Due to controversy surrounding the name Blitzkrieg, they replaced it with the surname of 17th century Holy Roman military leader Albrecht von Wallenstein.

In September 1971, Wallenstein entered Dierks Studios in Stommeln and recorded their debut album with producer Dieter Dierks. Blitzkrieg appeared in January 1972 on Pilz, a short-lived underground division of Breeze Music GmbH. It features four lengthy Dollase originals: “Lunetic” (11:55), “The Theme” (9:37), “Manhatten Project” (13:47), and “Audiences” (7:38). Dollase sings lead and plays Mellotron; Dierks adds phasing to “Lunetic.” Illustrator Gil Funccius designed the gatefold cover in a style similar to his contemporary visuals for Annexus Quam, Witthüser + Westrupp, Embryo, Mythos, and Thirsty Moon.

Later in 1972, Wallenstein returned with Mother Universe, one of the final Pilz titles (20 29113-8). It features six Dollase originals, including “Golden Antenna,” “Dedicated to Mystery Land,” and “Braintrain.” The elderly woman shown on the cover was Dollase’s grandmother, photographed by Grosskopf. The track “Relics of Past” was included on that year’s multi-artist Pilz compilation Rapunzel (Neue Deutsche Volksmusik).

Mother Universe would be the last Wallenstein album with Jerry Berkers, who paralleled that release with an album of folk-rock originals, Unterwegs, produced by Dierks and released on Pilz. It features Dollase and Barone with additional backing by Bernd Witthüser (acoustic guitar) and Walter Westrupp (harmonica). Returning favors, Berkers and Dollase (along with Grosskopf) played on the 1972 Witthüser + Westrupp release Bauer Plath.


  • Blitzkrieg (1971)
  • Mother Universe (1972)
  • Cosmic Century (1973)
  • Stories, Songs and Symphonies (1975)
  • No More Love (1977)
  • Charline (1978)
  • Blue-Eyed Boys (1979)
  • Fräuleins (1980)
  • Ssssstop (1981)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *