Wah! was the revolving band-moniker of Liverpudlian guitarist/vocalist Pete Wylie. The name first appeared as Wah! Heat on a pair of singles issued by small-press Inevitable Music in 1980. In 1981, the band dropped “Heat” from its name and issued a standalone single and the album Nah=Poo – The Art of Bluff on WEA-subsidiary Eternal, followed by several stop-gap singles circa 1982/83. After the label was acquired by Beggars Banquet, Wylie issued A Word to the Wise Guy in 1984 as The Mighty Wah!

Before forming the band, Wylie was briefly one of the Crucial Three along with fellow future-frontmen Ian McCulloch (Echo & the Bunnymen) and Julian Cope (Teardrop Explodes).

Members: Pete Wylie (guitar, vocals), Rob Jones (drums), Pete Younger (bass, 1979), Washington (bass), Colin Redmond (guitar), J.J. Tyler (synthesizer)


  • “Better Scream” / “Joe” (1980 • Wah! Heat)
  • “Seven Minutes to Midnight… To be Continued” / “Don’t Step on the Cracks” (1980 • Wah! Heat)
  • Nah=Poo – The Art of Bluff (1981)
  • “Forget the Down!” / “The Checkmate Syndrome” (1981)
  • “The Story of the Blues” (1982)
  • “Remember” / “Crack Is a Crack (Theme From Square One)” (1982 • Shambeko Say Wah!)
  • “Hope (I Wish You’d Believe Me)” / “Sleep” (1983)
  • A Word to the Wise Guy (1984 • The Mighty Wah!)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *