Univers Zéro

Univers Zéro is a Belgian chamber-rock/Zeuhl ensemble that has been sporadically active since the mid-1970s. Led from its inception by drummer Daniel Denis, the group released five albums between 1977 and 1986. After a decade-length pause in activity, the nameplate relit at the cusp of the millennium.

Members: Daniel Denis (drums, keyboards), Guy Segers (bass, 1974-77, 1978-83, 1997), Roger Trigaux (guitar, keyboards, 1974-75, 1977-79), Claude Deron (trumpet, 1974-1975), Patrick Hanappier (violin, viola, 1974-79, 1980-81, 1985-86), Vincent Motoulle (keyboards, 1974-77), Michel Berckmans (oboe, English horn, bassoon, melodica, keyboards, percussion, 1975-81, 1998-2012), Jeannot Gillis (violin, 1975-76), Marcel Dufrane (violin, 1977-78), Christian Genet (bass, 1977-78, 1983-86), Emmanuel Nicaise (harmonium, 1977), Andy Kirk (keyboards, 1979-83, 1985-86, 1997, 2005-08), Jean-Luc Aimé (violin, 1979-80), Dirk Descheemaeker (clarinet, bass clarinet, saxophone, 1981-86, 1998-2003), Alan Ward (violin, 1981-83), Enzo Cannata (guitar, 1981), Jean-Luc Plouvier (keyboards, guitar, 1983-86), André Mergenthaler (cello, saxophone, 1983-85), Michel Delory (guitar, 1985-86)

Univers Zéro was formed in 1974 Brussels by drummer Daniel Denis. He played beforehand in the jazz-rock trio Arkham, whose then-unreleased recordings would finally be issued three decades later on Cuneiform. On two songs, Arkama was joined by flugelhorn player Claude Deron.

Denis and Deron formed Necronomicon in 1973 with guitarist Roger Trigaux and violinist Patrick Hanappier. In 1974, they changed their name to Univers Zéro, taken from the namesake 1970 novel by Belgian sci-fi author Jacques Sternberg. Bassoonist Michel Berckmans joined in 1975, completing their first stable lineup.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *