Tygers of Pan Tang

Tygers of Pan Tang were an English hard-rock/metal band that released four albums and assorted shortplayers on MCA between 1980 and 1982, followed by two further albums on Music for Nations and Zebra Records during the second half of the 1980s.

Members: Brian Dick (drums, 1978-83, 1985-87), Robb Weir (guitar, 1978-83, 1999-present), Rocky Laws (bass, 1978-83), Jess Cox (lead vocals, 1978-81, 1999), John Sykes (guitar, 1980-82), Jon Deverill (lead vocals, 1981-87), Fred Purser (guitar, 1982-83), Steve Lamb (guitar, 1984-87), Neil Shepard (guitar, 1984-87), Clin Irwin (bass, 1984), Dave Donaldson (bass, 1985-87)

Tygers of Pan Tang formed in 1978 when singer Jesse Cox and guitarist Robb Weir teamed with bassist Richard “Rocky” Laws and drummer Brian Dick in Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear. After some months on the working-class bar circuit, they signed to the NWOBHM label Neat Records.

The Tygers sole Neat release is the 1979 maxi-single “Don’t Touch Me There” (b/w “Burning Up” / “Bad Times”). The sleeve, a black/gold depiction of a gaping tiger, was illustrated by one Joan Cruickshank. The tiger theme would be a mainstay of their album covers and 7″ sleeves.


  • Wild Cat (1980)
  • Spellbound (1981)
  • Hellbound (EP, 1981)
  • Crazy Nights (1981)
  • The Cage (1982)
  • The Wreck-Age (1985)
  • Burning in the Shade (1987)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *