Trettioåriga Kriget

Trettioåriga Kriget was a Swedish symphonic/hard-rock band that released two albums on CBS/Epic during 1974 and 1975, followed by two albums on Mistlur and a fifth on Mellotronen between 1978 and 1981.

Members: Stefan Fredin (bass, vocals), Dag Lundquist (drums, Mellotron), Olle Thörnvall (harmonica), Pocke Öhrström (guitar, vocals, 1970-71), Dag Kronlund (piano, 1970-71), Johan Gullberg (drums, 1970-71), Robert Zima (vocals, electric guitar, 1971-79, 2002-present), Christer Åkerberg (guitar, 1972-present), Mats Lindberg (keyboards, 1978-present)

Trettioåriga Kriget (Swedish for Thirty Years War) formed in 1970 by a group of schoolmates, mostly seventeen, in Saltsjöbaden, southeast of Stockholm. The original lineup included bassist Stefan Fredin, guitarist/singer Pocke Öhrström, harpist/guitarist Olle Thörnvall, pianist Dag Kronlund, and drummers Dag Lundquist and Johan Gullberg. They rehearsed in the school’s main hall and recorded 53 minutes of lengthy blues jams in the winter of 1970/71; released in 2004 as Glorious War.

In 1971, Öhrström cleared out for guitarist/singer Robert Zima. Kronlund and Gullberg also left, followed in 1972 by Thörnvall, who opted to focus on lyrics. That summer, Christer Åkerberg became their second guitarist. The newly stabilized four-piece spent the next 18 months rehearsing and developing new material, inspired by UK symphonic and hard-rock groups.

In early 1974, Trettioåriga Kriget signed to CBS-CUPOL AB. Their self-titled debut album appeared that August.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *