Tramline were an English blues-rock band from Middlesbrough that released two albums on Island Records during 1968 and 1969.

Members: Micky Moody (guitar), John McCoy (vocals, harmonica), Terry Sidgwick (bass, vocals), Terry Popple (drums)

Guitarist Micky Moody recorded three albums apiece with Juicy Lucy and Snafu between 1970 and 1975. In 1977, he collaborated with Status Quo fifth-wheel Bob Young on the Magnet Records release Young & Moody. Amid session-work for Peter French, Gerry Rafferty, Roger Chapman, and Sheena Easton, Moody served as the original guitarist of Whitesnake, recording six albums with the band between 1978 and 1983.

Tramline drummer Terry Popple cut a 1971 album with Aussie psych-rockers McPhee before reuniting with Moody in Snafu. The two also interacted on the 1975 album Squire by Lindisfarne-frontman Alan Hull.


  • Somewhere Down the Line (1968)
  • Moves of Vegetable Centuries (1969)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *