The Wurzels

The Wurzels were an English comedy-folk band from Nailsea, Somerset, originally formed in 1966 as a four-piece with vocalist Adge Cutler. In this configuration, the band released four albums on Columbia between 1967 and 1969, plus a fifth on Starline in 1972. Trimmed to a trio, the band released six proper albums between 1975 and 1983, mostly on EMI. In 1976, the band scored two top-three U.K. hits with “The Combine Harvester” (No. 1, June) and “I Am a Cider Drinker,” the latter originally recorded by Dutch popsters the George Baker Selection.

Members: Adge Cutler (vocals, 1966-74), Reg Quantrill (banjo, guitar, 1966-74), John Macey (bass, 1966-68), Reg Chant (accordion, 1966-67), Brian Walker (tuba, 1966-67), Tommy Banner (accordion, piano, 1967-present), Henry Davies (tuba, bass, violin, 1968-69), Tony “Gaffer” Baylis (tuba, bass, 1969-85), Pete Budd (vocals, guitar, banjo, 1974-present), John Morgan (drums, 1981-present), Mike Gwilliam (bass, 1985-95), Dave Wintour (bass, 1995-2002), Jai Howe (bass, 2002-present)


  • Adge Cutler’s Family Album (1967 • Adge Cutler with The Wurzels)
  • Adge Cutler & The Wurzels (1967 • Adge Cutler & The Wurzels)
  • Cutler of the West (1968 • Adge Cutler & The Wurzels)
  • Carry on Cutler! (1969 • Adge Cutler & The Wurzels)
  • Don’t Tell I, Tell ‘Ee (1972 • Adge Cutler & The Wurzels)
  • The Wurzels are Scrumptious! (1975)
  • The Combine Harvester (1976)
  • Golden Delicious (1977)
  • Give Me England! (1977)
  • I’ll Never Get a Scrumpy Here (1978)
  • Freshly Cut (1983)
  • Never Mind the Bullocks – ‘Ere’s the Wurzels (2002)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *