The Velvet Underground

The Velvet Underground were an American folk-rock/psych band from NYC, founded in 1965 by guitarist/vocalist Lou Reed and Welsh-born organist/violist John Cale. The band released two albums on Verve in 1967/68, the first featuring German vocalist Nico. Cale left the band in 1968, replaced by musician/songwriter Doug Yule, who co-led for an eponymous 1969 release on MGM and the 1970 Cotillion outing Loaded. Reed subsequently departed for a solo career, leaving Yule to front a revised lineup for the 1973 Polydor release Squeeze. Further recordings from the 1968/69 period would later surface on archival collections during the 1980s.

Members: Lou Reed (vocals, guitar, piano, 1965-70), John Cale (viola, bass, organ, vocals, 1965-68), Sterling Morrison (guitar, bass, vocals, 1965-71), Angus MacLise (drums, percussion, 1965), Maureen Tucker (percussion, drums, vocals, 1965-72), Doug Yule (bass, organ, vocals, guitar, piano, 1968-73), Walter Powers (bass, vocals, 1970-72), Willie Alexander (keyboards, vocals, 1971-72)


  • The Velvet Underground & Nico (1967 • The Velvet Underground & Nico)
  • White Light / White Heat (1968)
  • The Velvet Underground (1969)
  • Loaded (1970)
  • Squeeze (1973)
  • VU [archival] (1985)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *