The Undisputed Truth

The Undisputed Truth were an American soul-psych group from Detroit, formed in 1970. The group released six albums on Motown’s Gordy imprint between 1971 and 1975, followed by two further albums on producer Norman Whitfield’s surnamesake label during the second half of the decade.

Members: Joe Harris (lead vocals), Billie Rae Calvin (lead vocals, 1970-74), Brenda Joyce Evans (lead vocals, 1970-74), Calvin Stephenson [aka Dhaakk, Calvin Stevens] (vocals, 1975), Virginia McDonald [aka Vee] (vocals, 1975-76), Tyrone Douglas (vocals, 1975), Tyrone Barkley (vocals, 1975), Taka Boom (lead vocals, 1976-78), Calvin Earl Hardy (bass), Dan Homes (drums), Jack Weber (guitar), Isy Martin (guitar), Carl Smalls (drums)

Producer Norman Whitfield assembled The Undisputed Truth in 1970 with singers Joe Harris, Billie Calvin, and Brenda Joyce Evans. For Whitfield, who concurrently produced The Temptations, the trio functioned as an outlet for his more radical musical ideas.

Harris had cut a string of 1960s singles as one-third of soulsters The Four Preps. He was briefly part of the Ohio Untouchables, a precursor to the Ohio Players.

Calvin and Evans hailed from the mid-’60s California girl-group The Delicates, which issued multiple singles on Gene Autry’s Challenge label. They subsequently sang backup on 1970 recordings by Diana Ross (Diana Ross), the Four Tops, and Edwin Starr. They were introduced to Motown by Jackson 5 discoverer Bobby Taylor, former frontman of Canadian soulsters The Vancouvers (with Tommy Chong).


  • The Undisputed Truth (1971)
  • Face to Face With the Truth (1972)
  • Law of the Land (1973)
  • Down to Earth (1974)
  • Cosmic Truth (1975)
  • Higher Than High (1975)
  • Method to the Madness (1976)
  • Smokin’ (1979)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *