The Spencer Davis Group

The Spencer Davis Group was an English R&B/beat band from Birmingham, fronted by teenage singer/keyboardist Steve Winwood. Signed to Fontana, they released three albums during 1965–66 comprised mostly of blues and soul covers. Though the band was democratic, they made guitarist/singer Spencer Davis their namesake because he was the only member willing to field journalists.

They scored a UK hit with “Keep On Running,” then broke internationally with Winwood’s exuberant soul-rockers “Gimme Some Lovin'” and “I’m a Man,” both evergreens of the British Invasion. After his departure to Traffic, they hired organist/singer Eddie Hardin and psyched up for the 1968 UA album With Their New Face On. He and drummer Pete York subsequently recorded as Hardin and York.

Winwood released nine albums with Traffic and partook in two supergroups (Blind Faith, Go), then launched a highly successful solo career. His brother, bassist Muff Winwood, produced ’70s albums for Patto, Russ Ballard, Mott the Hoople, Sparks, Deaf School, the Fabulous Poodles, Burlesque, and Dire Straits.

Members: Spencer Davis (guitar, vocals), Pete York (drums, 1963-69, 1973-74, 1984-85, 1988-2006), Steve Winwood (lead vocals, piano, organ, guitar, 1963-67), Muff Winwood (bass, vocals, 1963-67), Eddie Hardin (lead vocals, organ, 1967-69, 1973-74, 2002-15), Phil Sawyer (lead guitar, 1967-68), Ray Fenwick (lead guitar, vocals, 1968-69, 1973-74), Dee Murray (lead guitar, 1969), Dave Hynes (drums, 1969), Nigel Olsson (drums, 1969), Charlie McCracken (bass, 1973-74), Colin Hodgkinson (bass, vocals, 1984-85, 1988-present), Miller Anderson (guitar, vocals, 1985-present), Neal Morse (organ, piano, keyboards, vocals, 1985-88), Derol Caraco (bass, 1985-88), Simeon Pillich (lead guitar, 1985-88), Steve Klong (drums, percussion, 1985-88), Zoot Money (keyboards, vocals, 1988), Wolfgang Dalheimer (keyboards, organ, 1997-2001), Steff Porzel (drums, 2006-present),


  • Their First LP (1965)
  • The Second Album (1966)
  • Autumn ’66 (1966)
  • Gimme Some Lovin’ (1967)
  • I’m a Man (1967)
  • Here We Go ‘Round the Mulberry Bush (1968 • The Spencer Davis Group and Traffic)
  • With Their New Face On (1968)
  • Heavies (1969)
  • Funky (1971)
  • Gluggo (1973)
  • Living in a Back Street (1974)
  • Vibrate (1986)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *