The Salsoul Orchestra

The Salsoul Orchestra were an American Latin-funk ensemble from N.Y.C. that served as the house band of namesake Salsoul Records, releasing 10 albums on the label between 1975 and 1982.

Members: Charles Apollonia (violin), John Bonnie (saxophone), Edward Cascarella (trombone), Roger DeLillo (trombone), Don Renaldo (strings), Bobby Eli (guitar), Jack Faith (flute, arranger), Larry Gold (cello), Carl Helm (vocals), Carlton Kent (keyboards), Ron Kersey (keyboards), Rudolph Malizia (violin), Vincent Montana, Jr. (producer, arranger, percussion, vibraphone, strings, conductor), Robert Moore (brass), Peter Quintero (percussion, bongos, conga, timbales), Christine Reeves (violin), TJ Tindall (guitar), Ron Tyson (vocals), Larry Washington (conga), Earl Young (drums), Phil Hurtt (vocals), Phyllis Rhodes (vocals), Michael Foreman (bass), Ronnie James (guitar), Eddie Green


  • The Salsoul Orchestra (1975)
  • Nice ‘n’ Naasty (1976)
  • Christmas Jollies (1976)
  • Cuchi-Cuchi (1977 • Charo and The Salsoul Orchestra)
  • Magic Journey (1977)
  • Up the Yellow Brick Road (1978)
  • How High (1979)
  • Street Sense (1979)
  • Christmas Jollies II (1981)
  • Heat It Up (1982)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *