The Runaways

The Runaways were a teenage, all-female American hard-rock band that released four studio albums between 1976 and 1978 on Mercury. Guitarist-singers Joan Jett and Lita Ford each went onto solo chart success in the 1980s.

Members: Joan Jett (vocals, guitar, bass, 1975-79), Sandy West (drums, vocals, 1975-79), Michael Steele (vocals, bass, 1975), Lita Ford (guitar, vocals, bass, 1975-79), Peggy Foster (bass, 1975), Cherie Currie (vocals, keyboards, 1975-77), Jackie Fox (bass, vocals, 1975-77), Vicki Blue [aka Victory Tischler-Blue] (bass, 1977-78), Laurie McAllister (bass, 1978-79)

The Runaways formed in Los Angeles in August 1975 when guitarist Joan Jett and drummer Sandy West, both 16, separately approached local rock svengali Kim Fowley and asked him to link them with other young female rock musicians. He introduced the two girls and helped them find lead guitarist Lita Ford and singer Cherie Currie. They went through two short-term bassists — Micki Steele (later of The Bangels) and Peggy Foster — before the lineup stabilized with Jackie Fox.


  • The Runaways (1976)
  • Queens of Noise (1977)
  • Live in Japan (1977)
  • Waitin’ for the Night (1977)
  • And Now… The Runaways (1978)
  • Flaming School Girls (1980)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *