The Motors

The Motors were an English pop-rock band from London that released three albums on Virgin between 1977 and 1980. The band was formed by guitarist/vocalist Nick Garvey and keyboardist/bassist Andy McMaster after the breakup of their prior outfit Ducks Deluxe. Garvey also appeared on the 1976 one-off single by Snakes, where he played alongside future-Wire drummer Robert Gotobed.

The first two Motors albums feature guitarist/singer Peter Bramall (aka Bram Tchaikovsky), who subsequently led a moniker-sake pop outfit for three albums between 1979 and 1981. He was replaced in the Motors by bassist/guitarist Martin Ace, who hailed from the 1971/72 lineup of Man and its spinoff, Deke Leonard‘s Iceberg.

The Motors are best remembered for their ELO-ish 1978 single “Airport,” a U.K. no. 4 hit from their second album Approved by The Motors.

Members: Nick Garvey (guitar, bass, vocals), Andy McMaster (keyboards, bass, vocal), Ricky Slaughter [Richard Wernham] (drums, 1977-78), Rob Hendry (guitar, 1977), Bram Tchaikovsky (guitar, vocals, 1977-78), Martin Ace (bass, 1979-80), Terry Williams (drums, 1979-80)


  • The Motors 1 (1977)
  • Approved by The Motors (1978)
  • Tenement Steps (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *