The Lovin’ Spoonful

The Lovin’ Spoonful was an American pop-rock band that released five albums and two soundtracks between 1965 and 1969 on Kama Sutra. They are best-known for the AM radio evergreens “Do You Believe in Magic,” “Daydream,” “You Didn’t Have to Be So Nice,” “Did You Ever Have to Make Up Your Mind?” and the Billboard No. 1 “Summer in the City.” Guitarist–singer John Sebastian scored a 1976 solo No. 1 with “Welcome Back,” the theme to the ABC sitcom Welcome Back, Kotter.

Members: Steve Boone (bass), John Sebastian (guitar, vocals, 1965-68), Zalman Yanovsky (guitar, 1965-67), Jan Carl (drums, 1965), Joe Butler (drums, vocals, 1965-), Jerry Yester (guitar, 1967-69)

The Lovin’ Spoonful formed in January 1965 in New York City.


  • Do You Believe in Magic (1965)
  • Daydream (1966)
  • What’s Up, Tiger Lily? [OST] (1966)
  • Hums of The Lovin’ Spoonful (1966)
  • You’re a Big Boy Now [OST] (1967)
  • Everything Playing (1967)
  • Revelation: Revolution ’69 (1969 • The Lovin’ Spoonful Featuring Joe Butler)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *