The Kay-Gee’s

The Kay-Gee’s were an American soul-funk band from Jersey City that released two albums on Gang Records between 1974 and 1976, followed by another pair of albums on parent-label De-Lite Records in 1978 and 1979. Multi-instrumentalist and bandleader Amir Bayyan (aka Kevin Bell) is the younger brother of Kool & The Gang members Robert “Kool” Bell and Ronald Bell.

Members: Amir Bayyan [aka Kevin Bell] (guitar, bass, percussion, keyboard, vocals), Callie Cheek (drums), Dennis White (woodwind), Kevin Lassiter (keyboards), Michael Cheek (bass), Peter Duarte (saxophone), Ray Wright (trumpet, flugelhorn, trombone), Wilson Beckett (percussion)

Kay-Gees: Keep On Bumpin’ & Masterplan

The Kay-Gee’s released their debut album, Keep on Bumpin’ & Masterplan, in 1974 on Gang Records, a subsidiary of De-Lite Records set up especially for Kool & The Gang side projects. (Aside from two early singles by Tomorrow’s Edition, The Kay-Gee’s were the only act issued on Gang.) It was produced by Ronald Bell and features 10 co-writes between the band and the elder Bell, including “My Favorite Song” and the side-two medley “Ain’t No Time (Pt. 1)” / “Wondering” / “Ain’t No Time (Pt. 2).” The album spawned three singles: “Get Down,” “You’ve Got To Keep on Bumpin’,” and “Master Plan,” alternately titled “Who’s the Man? (With the Master Plan).”

In 1975, The Kay-Gee’s issued the non-album single “Hustle Wit Every Muscle (Theme from “Party” T.V. Show).”

Kay-Gees: Find a Friend (1976)

The Kay-Gee’s second Gang longplayer, Find a Friend, appeared in 1976. As producer, Ronald Bell is credited as Khalis Bayyan (his Nation of Islam name). He’s also listed by his real name for his guest work on tenor sax. Backing vocals are served on select cuts by Tomorrow’s Edition and female studio act Something Sweet. The album features 13 tracks composed by Robert Bell, mostly in collaboration with the band, including “S.T.P (Singing, Teaching & Preaching),” “Waitin’ at the Bus Stop,” and “On the Money.” The opener/closer “Find a Friend” was co-written with fellow Kool & The Gang member Otha Nash. “Be Real” is co-credited to writer/arranger Donna Johnson.

Gang Records folded soon thereafter and the next two albums were issued on De-Lite. The first of these, Kilowatt, appeared in 1978 with writing and production handled by the band. It features nine songs, including “Tango Hustle,” “Space Disco,” and “Good Feel.” The cuts “Cheek to Cheek” and “Kilowatt/Invasion” were issued as singles. Kevin Bell is credited solely with guitar on this album. He left soon after to join his brother’s band.

In 1979, The Kay-Gee’s released Burn Me Up, their first and only recording with no involvement from the Bell clan. It was produced by disco heavyweight Patrick Adams (Cloud One, Bumblebee Unlimited, Inner Life, Musique, Phreek, Universal Robot Band) with associates Stan Lucas (Dazzle) and Ken Morris. The album closes with the seven-minute “The Rhythm Is Hot,” co-written by Adams-associated vocalist Venus Dodson. The title-track was issued as a single just prior to the group’s disbandment.


  • Keep on Bumpin’ & Masterplan (1974)
  • Find a Friend (1976)
  • Kilowatt (1978)
  • Burn Me Up (1979)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *