The Glitterhouse

The Glitterhouse was an American soul-psych band that released the 1968 album Color Blind on Dynovoice Records. They performed the theme song to the 1968 sci-fi comedy Barbarella. Keyboardist Mark “Moogy” Klingman surfaced in the original lineup of Todd Rundgren‘s Utopia.

Members: Michael Gayle (guitar, vocals), Hank Aberle (guitar, violin, vocals), Al Lax (bass, vocals), Gary Reems (drums, 1966), Mark “Moogy” Klingman (keyboards, 1967-74), Dave Heenan (vocals, 1967), Tommy Weiner (drums, 1965-66), Joel O’Brien (drums, 1967-68)

The Glitterhouse evolved from The Pop Art (initially called The Justice League), which formed in 1965 in Great Neck, NY. As The Pop Art, they cut the 1966 single “Rumpelstilskin” (b/w “Ode to an Unknown Girl”) on Epic. In 1967, they backed English singer Dave Heenan on the Epic single “Alice in Wonderland” (b/w “So Many Roads”), released as the Dave Heenan Set.

  • Color Blind (1968)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *