The Flying Lizards

The Flying Lizards were an English electro/art-pop project that yielded two albums on Virgin between 1979 and 1981, followed by a third on Statik in 1984. The project was ostensibly a twosome between composer/producer David Cunningham and a succession of vocalists: Deborah Evans-Stickland, Patti Palladin (Snatch), and Sally Peterson. The second album, Fourth Wall, features instrumental backing by keyboardist Julian Marshall (Marshall Hain, Eye to Eye) and Robert Fripp. Basswork on the final album, Top Ten, is handled by John Greaves (Henry Cow, National Health) who would later cut a collaborative disc with Cunningham.

Members: David Cunningham (piano, glockenspiel, synthesizer, percussion), Deborah Lizard [Deborah Evans-Stickland] (vocals, 1979), David Toop (drums), Steve Beresford (piano, trumpet, euphonium, bass), Patti Palladin (vocals, 1981)


  • The Flying Lizards (1979)
  • Fourth Wall (1981)
  • Top Ten (1984)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *