The Drones

The Drones were an English punk rock band from Manchester that released the 1977 album Further Temptations on Valer Records.

Members: M. J. Drone [Michael Howells] (vocals), Pete Howells (drums), Steve “Whispa” Cundall (bass), Gus Gangrene (guitar, 1976-78), Mike Koman (keyboards, 1978)


The Drones evolved from Rockslide, a glitter-pop band that issued the October 1975 single “Jump Bump Boogaloo” (b/w “Roller Coaster”) on one-press Reward.

Temptations of a White Collar Worker 

In July 1977, The Drones released Temptations of a White Collar Worker, a four-track EP on self-press O.H.M…S.

A1. “Lookalikes”
A2. “Corgi Crap”
B1. “Hard on Me”
B2. “You’ll Lose”

In September, The Drones released the single “Just Want to Be Myself” backed with “Bone Idol,” both Cundall–Drone numbers. Manchester small-press Valer Records issued this single (Cat# VRS 1) and the subsequent Drones album.

A. “Just Want to Be Myself”
B. “Bone Idol”

Further Temptations

The Drones released their singular album Further Temptations in November 1977 on Valer. It contains both sides of their recent single (“Just Want to Be Myself,” “Bone Idol”) and two re-recorded songs (“Lookalikes,” “Corgi Crap”) from Temptations of a White Collar Worker.

1. “Persecution Complex” (2:36)
2. “Bone Idol” (1:54)
3. “Movement” (2:51)
4. “Be My Baby” (3:19)
5. “Corgi Crap” (2:43)
6. “Sad So Sad” (2:38)
7. “The Change” (3:39)

8. “Lookalikes” (2:36)
9. “The Underdog” (3:00)
10. “No More Time” (2:35)
11. “City Drones” (3:40)
12. “Just Want To Be Myself” (2:44)
13. “Lift Off the Bans” (2:37)

Sessions took place at London’s CBS Studios London with producer Simon Humphrey.


  • Further Temptations (1977)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *