The Danse Society

The Danse Society was an English goth-rock band that released the 1981 independent singles “Clock” and “There Is No Shame In Death,” followed by the 1982–83 albums Seduction and Heaven Is Waiting on Society Records. As Danse Society International, they concluded with the 1986 Society release Looking Through.

Members: Steve Rawlings (vocals, 1980-87, 2009-10), Paul Nash (guitar, 1980-86, 2009-present), Tim Wright (bass, 1980-86), Lyndon Scarfe (keyboards, 1981-83), Paul Gilmartin (drums, 1983-86, 2009-present)


The Danse Society formed in Barnsley in 1980 when singer Steve Rawlings teamed with guitarist Paul Nash and bassist Tim Wright in an outfit called Danse Crazy, which they soon renamed to avoid confusion with the two-tone ska movement.

Early Singles, Peel Sessions

In March 1981, the Danse Society debuted with the single “Clock” backed with “Continent,” both self-produced group originals on self-press Society (SOC 3).

A. “Clock”
B. “Continent”

In mid-1981, the Danse Society released “There Is No Shame In Death,” a 12″ EP on blue and black vinyl on the custom imprint PAX.

A1. “There Is No Shame In Death”
B1. “Dolphins”
B2. “These Frayed Edges”

On November 21, 1981, the Danse Society recorded their first session for BBC Radio 1 DJ John Peel. The four-song set (broadcast 11/30) featured “Sanity Career,” “We’re So Happy,” “Womans Own,” and “Love as Positive Narcotic.”

In early 1982, Danse Society released their second PAX EP, which groups the earlier “Continent” with a new self-produced number (“Belief”) and two side openers produced by onetime Mott musician–soundman Dale Griffin.

A1. “Womans Own”
A2. “Continent”
B1. “We’re So Happy”
B2. “Belief”

On August 28, 1982, the Danse Society recorded their second Peel sessions. The 9/13 broadcast featured four songs: “Ambition,” “Clock,” “Godsend,” and “The Seduction.”


The Danse Society released their debut album, Seduction, in September 1982 on Society.

1. “Godsend” (4:53)
2. “My Heart” (4:19)
3. “Falling Apart” (4:13)
4. “Danse / Move” (4:51)

5. “Ambition” (6:35)
6. “In Heaven (Everything Is Fine)” (7:39)

1983 Singles

Mar 1983 (SOC 4)
A. “Somewhere”
B. “Hide”

19 Aug 1983 (SOC 5)
A. “Wake Up”
B. “The Seduction”

Oct 1983 (SOC 6)
A. “Heaven Is Waiting”
B. “Lizard Man”

“Heaven Is Waiting” appears on the 1983 UK Ronco comp Chart Trek Volumes 1 + 2, a two-record set with current hits by Bananarama (“Na Na Hey Hey Kiss Him Goodbye”), Blancmange (“Waves”), Carmel (“Bad Day”), Central Line (“Nature Boy”), China Crisis (“Christian”), Depeche Mode (“Everything Counts”), Dillinger (“Tribal Wars”), Donna Summer (“Unconditional Love”), Eurythmics (“Love Is a Stranger”), Fad Gadget (“Discover Love”), Freeez (“Pop Goes My Love”), JoBoxers (“Boxer Beat”), Kissing The Pink (“Last Film”), The Lotus Eaters (“First Picture of You”), Paul Young (“Love of the Common People”), Ryuichi Sakamoto & David Sylvian (“Forbidden Colours”), Tears For Fears (“Pale Shelter”), Thompson Twins (“Hold Me Now”), and Wham! (“Club Tropicana”).

Heaven Is Waiting

The Danse Society released their second album, Heaven Is Waiting, in December 1983 on Arista–Society. It contains the recent a-sides “Wake Up” and “Heaven Is Waiting” plus seven new group-written songs, including the epic bookends “Come Inside” and “The Night.” Side Two contains the Rolling Stones cover “2000 Light Years from Home.”

1. “Come Inside” (8:35)
2. “Wake Up” (4:53)
3. “Angel” (4:43)
4. “Where Are You Now” (4:12)
5. “Red Light (Shine)” (2:50)

6. “Heaven Is Waiting” (3:41)
7. “The Hurt” (3:50)
8. “2000 Light Years from Home” (3:55)
9. “Valiant to Vile” (3:30)
10. “The Night” (6:21)

Looking Through

The Danse Society released their third album, Looking Through, in 1986 on Society (as Danse Society International).

1. “All I Want”
2. “Institution”
3. “Sunset Gun”
4. “Looking Through”

5. “Runaway”
6. “House of Love”
7. “Don’t Stop Now”
8. “Midnight Land”


  • “Clock” / “Continent” (1981)
  • “Womans Own” / “We’re So Happy” (1982)
  • Seduction (1982)
  • “Somewhere” / “Hide” / “The Theme” (1982)
  • Heaven Is Waiting (1983)
  • Looking Through (1986)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *