The Creation

The Creation was an English rock quartet that was active during the mid-to-late 1960s. Vying for attention just as beat music and mod fashions were being overtaken by psychedelia, the band was noted for the antics of guitarist Eddie Phillips, who played his instrument with a violin bow. Musically, their legacy amounted to a series of singles that have since been touted by devotees of “freakbeat.”

Members: Bob Garner (bass, vocals, 1966-68, 1993-2000), Kenny Pickett (vocals, 1966-67, 1968, 1985, 1993-97), Eddie Phillips (lead guitar, 1966-67, 1985, 1993-present), Jack Jones (drums, 1966, 1967-68, 1993-2000), Dave Preston (drums, 1966), Kim Gardner (bass, 1967-68), Ron Wood (lead guitar, 1967-68), Tony Ollard (lead guitar, 1968)


The Creation stemmed from The Mark Four, a beat group formed in 1961 in Cheshunt, Hertfordshire.


“Making Time” / “Try and Stop Me”

“Painter Man” / “Biff Bang Pow”


“If I Stay Too Long” / “Nightmares”

“Life Is Just Beginning” / “Through My Eyes”

We Are Paintermen


“How Does It Feel To Feel” / “Tom Tom”

“Midway Down” / “The Girls Are Naked”

“For All That I Am” / “Uncle Bert”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *