The Babys

The Babys were an English rock band that released the 1976–77 Chrysalis albums The Babys and Broken Heart. They moved stateside and changed members for the 1978–80 albums Head First, Union Jacks, and On the Edge. They charted with two songs co-written by American singer Ray Kennedy: “Isn’t It Time” and “Every Time I Think of You.”

Drummer Tony Brock recorded earlier with symphonic hard-rockers Spontaneous Combustion.

Singer John Waite went solo and scored a 1984 Billboard No. 1 with “Missing You.” Keyboardist Jonathan Cain notched multiple hits with the 1981–86 incarnation of Journey.

Members: Mike Corby (keyboards, guitar, 1975-78), John Waite (vocals, bass, 1975-81), Tony Brock (drums, vocals), Matthew Irving (bass, 1975), Wally Stocker (guitar), Jonathan Cain (keyboards, guitar, vocals, 1978-81), Ricky Phillips (bass, 1978-81)


  • The Babys (1976)
  • Broken Heart (1977)
  • Head First (1978)
  • Union Jacks (1980)
  • On the Edge (1980)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *