The Amboy Dukes

The Amboy Dukes were an American hard-rock band that released three 1967–68 albums on Mainstream Records. They scored a 1968 Billboard Top 20 hit with “Journey to the Center of the Mind,” a psychedelic anthem included in the Nuggets series. On later releases, they’re billed as Ted Nugent & The Amboy Dukes.

Members: Ted Nugent (bass, guitar, percussion, vocals), Steve Farmer (rhythm guitar, 1968-70), Dave Palmer (drums, 1968-70), Bill White (bass, 1965-68, 1972), Rick Lober (keyboards, 1965-68), John Drake (vocals, 1967-68), Greg Arama (bass, 1968-70), Andy Solomon (keyboards, 1968-71), Rusty Day (vocals, 1969), K.J. Knight (drums, 1971), Bob Ruzga (bass, 1971), Rob Grange (bass, 1972-74), David Gilbert (vocals, 1972), Keith Johnstone (drums, 1972), John Angelos (lead vocals, harmonica, 1972), Joe Vitale (drums, piano, flute, 1972), Gabriel Magno (flute, keyboards, 1973), Vic Mastrianni (drums, 1973-74), Andy Jezowski (vocals, 1973-74)

The Amboy Dukes formed in 1964 in Chicago.


  • The Amboy Dukes (1967)
  • Journey to the Center of the Mind (1968)
  • Migration (1968)
  • Marriage on the Rocks / Rock Bottom (1970)
  • Survival of the Fittest (live, 1971 • Ted Nugent & The Amboy Dukes)
  • Call of the Wild (1974 • Ted Nugent & The Amboy Dukes)
  • Tooth, Fang & Claw (1974 • Ted Nugent’s Amboy Dukes)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *