Stray was an English hard-rock band that released five albums between 1970 and 1974 on Transatlantic Records, followed by three 1975–76 albums on Pye. They were mainstays of the festival circuit with slots at the 1971–72 Reading Rock events.

Members: Steve Gadd (harmonica, guitar, vocals, percussion, 1966-74), Del Bromham (lead guitar, vocals, Mellotron, organ, harpsichord), Gary G. Giles (bass), Steve Crutchley (drums, 1966), Ritchie Cole (drums, percussion, 1966-77), Pete Dyer (guitar, vocals, 1974-77)


Stray was formed in 1966 by four teenage classmates at the Christopher Wren School in London: singer Steve Gadd, guitarist Del Bromham, bassist Gary Giles, and drummer Steve Crutchley, all age 14 at the time of inception. In 1968, the jazz-interested Crutchley cleared way for drummer Ritchie Cole.

During 1969, Stray gigged regularly at the Goldhawk Club in Shepherds Bush and the Middle Earth in Covent Garden. After a high-profile opening slot for the Groundhogs at the Southall Farx Club, Stray signed to Transatlantic Records in January 1970.


Stray released their self-titled debut album in June 1970 on Transatlantic Records.


Stray released their second album, Suicide, on March 4, 1971, on Transatlantic Records.

Saturday Morning Pictures

Stray released their third album, Saturday Morning Pictures, in November 1971 on Transatlantic Records.


Stray released their fourth album, Mudanzas, in June 1973 on Transatlantic Records.

Move It

Stray released their fifth album, Move It, in May 1974 on Transatlantic Records.

Stand Up and Be Counted

Stray released their sixth album, Stand Up and Be Counted, in July 1975 on Dawn.

Hearts of Fire

Stray released their seventh album, Hearts of Fire, in early 1976 on Pye.


Stray released their eighth album, Houdini, in late 1976 on Pye.


  • Stray (1970)
  • Suicide (1971)
  • Saturday Morning Pictures (1972)
  • Mudanzas (1973)
  • Move It (1974)
  • Stand Up and Be Counted (1975)
  • Hearts of Fire (1976)
  • Houdini (1976)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *