Stories was an American art-rock|pop band from N.Y.C. that released the 1972–73 albums Stories and About Us on Kama Sutra. After the departure of keyboardist and co-writer Michael Brown, singer Ian Lloyd took rein for the single “Brother Louie” and a third album, Traveling Underground. Brown hailed from baroque pop legends The Left Banke.

Members: Ian Lloyd (bass, vocals), Steve Love (guitar), Bryan Madey (drums), Kenny Aaronson (bass), Michael Brown (vocals, keyboards, 1972-73), Ken Bichel (keyboards, 1973-74)


Stories started in 1971 when bassist Ian Lloyd and keyboardist Michael Brown formed a songwriting partnership.

Lloyd (b. Lloyd Buonconsiglio, 1947, Seattle) had been singing and cutting demos as Lloyd London. Brown (b. Michael Lookofsky, 1949, Brooklyn) recorded the heralded album Walk Away Renée / Pretty Ballerina and several additional singles (“And Suddenly,” “Desiree”) in The Left Banke, followed by one album in Montage. They were introduced by their fathers, veteran session violinists Peter Buonconsiglio and Harry Lookofsky.

Intent on forming a band in the vein of Revolver, they teamed with guitarist Steve Love and drummer Bryan Madey and signed as Stories to the NY-based Kama Sutra label. Concurrently, Love and Madey did session work for rustic label-mates Gunhill Road.


Stories released their self-titled debut album in May 1972 on Kama Sutra.

A1. “Hello People” (3:54)
A2. “I’m Coming Home” (2:38)
A3. “Winter Scenes” (4:18)
A4. “Step Back” (3:20)
A5. “You Told Me” (3:06)
B1. “Saint James” (4:13)
B2. “Kathleen” (3:14)
B3. “Take Cover” (3:01)
B4. “Nice to Have You Here” (3:25)
B5. “High and Low” (4:28)

Recorded At – Bell Sound Studios
Produced By – Stories
Engineered By – Izzy Disenhaus
String Arrangements – Larry Wilcox
Written-By – Ian Lloyd, Michael Brown

Drums – Bryan Madey
Harmony Vocals, Guitar – Steve Love
Lead Vocals, Bass – Ian Lloyd
Piano, Harpsichord, Organ, Moog Synthesizer – Michael Brown

Violin – Harry Lookofsky, Peter Buonconsiglio (A5, B2)
Additional Guitar – Peter Hoffman

Photography By – Peter Kaplan
Art Direction – Glen Christensen
Cover Concept – Dominic Sicilia

About Us

Stories released their second album, About Us, in March 1973 on Kama Sutra.

In July, Kama Sutra re-released About Us with “Brother Louie” appended to the tracklist.

A1. “Darling” (2:38)
A2. “Don’t Ever Let Me Down” (2:16)
A3. “Love Is In Motion” (3:14)
A4. “Hey France” (2:50)
A5. “Please, Please” (4:55)
B1. “Changes Have Begun” (3:30)
B2. “Circles” (1:34)
B3. “Believe Me” (3:31)
B4. “Words” (2:21)
B5. “Top of the City” (2:58)
B6. “Down Time Blooze” (1:18)
B7. “What Comes After” (2:00)
B8. “Brother Louie” (3:55)

Recorded At – Olympic Studios
Recorded At – Bell Sound Studios
Producer – Eddie Kramer (A1, A4 to B1, B3), Steve Love (B1), Stories (A1 to A5, B2 to B7)
Producer, Arranged By – Kenny Kerner (B8), Richie Wise (B8)

Bass, Lead Vocals – Ian Lloyd
Drums, Percussion – Bryan Madey
Guitar, Sitar, Vocals – Steve Love
Piano, Harpsichord, Mellotron – Michael Brown

Written-By – Errol Brown (tracks: B8), Ian Lloyd (A1 to A5, B2 to B7), Michael Brown (A1 to A5, B2 to B7), Tony Wilson (B8)
Written-By, Bass – Steve Love (B1)

Traveling Underground

Stories released their third album, Traveling Underground, in December 1973 on Kama Sutra, which now billed the group as Ian Lloyd & Stories.

Traveling Underground features three songs by Lloyd (“Bridges,” “Stories Untold,” the title track), two by Steve Love (“Hard When You’re So Far Away,” “I Can’t Understand It”), and the co-written “Soft Rain.” Lloyd co-wrote the epic medley “Earthbound / Free Fall” with Kenneth Bichel.

A1. “Bridges” (5:08)
A2. “Soft Rain” (4:30)
A3. “Hard When You’re So Far Away” (4:25)
A4. “If It Feels Good, Do It” (2:47) Written-By – J. Stevenson
A5. “Mammy Blue” (3:40) Written-By – Giraud, Trim
B1. “Stories Untold” (4:01)
B2. “I Can’t Understand It” (3:55)
B3. “Earthbound / Free Fall” (8:13)
B4. “Traveling Underground” (4:31)

Recorded “Underground” at Bell Sound, N.Y.C., Crystal Sound, L.A. & United Sound, L.A.
Producer – Kenny Kerner, Richie Wise, Stories (A1 to A3, B1 to B4)
Engineer – Warren Dewey
Arranged By [Strings] – Larry Wilcox (A5)

Vocals – Ian Lloyd
Bass – Kenny Aaronson
Drums, Percussion – Bryan Madey
Guitar – Steve Love
Keyboards, Mellotron, Arp Synthesizer – Kenneth Bichel

Artwork – Gene Szafran
Photography By – Joel Brodsky


  • Stories (1972)
  • About Us (1973)
  • Traveling Underground (1973 • Ian Lloyd & Stories)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *