Slaughter and the Dogs

Slaughter and the Dogs were an English rock band from Wythenshawe, formed in 1975 at the forefront of punk. On July 20, 1976, they played a watershed triple-bill with the Buzzcocks and The Sex Pistols at the Manchester Lesser Free Trade Hall, heralding the city’s musical renaissance.

During 1977, Slaughter and the Dogs placed two songs (“Runaway,” “Boston Babies”) on The Roxy London WC2 (Jan – Apr 77) — a document of various bands that played the first 100 days of London venue the Roxy — and initiated punk-press Rabid Records with their debut single “Cranked Up Really High,” also included on the multi-artist compilation Streets.

Signed to Decca, they released multiple singles and the 1978 album Do It Dog Style, comprised of pogo-pulse ditties and space-rock anthems. After a standalone EP on TJM, they shortened their name to Slaughter for the 1980 DJM release Bite Back.

Members: Mick Rossi (guitar, vocals), Howard “Zip” Bates (bass, 1975-81), Wayne Barrett (vocals, 1975-79, 1979, 1991-present), Mad Muffet (drums, 1975-79), Mike Day (guitar, 1975-76), Billy Duffy (guitar, 1979), Phil Rowland (drums, 1979-81), Eddie Garrity [aka Ed Banger] (vocals, 1979-81), Noel Kay [Noël Kapoudjian] (drums, 1991-2016), Nigel Mead (bass, 1991-?), J. P. Thollet (bass), Mark Reback (drums), Dan Graziano (bass)


  • Do It Dog Style (1978)
  • Live Slaughter Rabid Dogs (1978)
  • It’s Alright (EP, 1979)
  • Bite Back (1980 • Slaughter)


  • “Cranked Up Really High” / “The Bitch” (1977)
  • “Where Have All the Boot Boys Gone?” / “You’re a Bore” (1977)
  • “Dame to Blame” / “Johnny T.” (1977)
  • “Quick Joey Small” / “Come on Back” (1978)
  • “I Believe” / “It Isn’t Me” (1979 • Studio Sweethearts)
  • “You’re Ready Now” / “Runaway” (1979)
  • “East Side of Town” / “One by One” (1980 • Slaughter)
  • “I’m the One” / “What’s Wrong Boy (live)” / “Hell in New York” (1980)
  • “Twist & Turn” (1982)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *